curled up underneath a dogwood tree

94445

Horse Feathers-Working Poor

Yonder Mountain String Band-Sidewalk Stars

 

Blitzen Trapper-Black River Killer

Blitzen Trapper-Furr

On the day that I turned 23, 
I was curled up underneath a dogwood tree 
When suddenly a girl with skin the color of a pearl 
She wandered aimlessly, but she didn’t seem to see 
She was listenin’ for the angels just like me 
So I stood and looked about 
I brushed the leaves off of my snout 
And then I heard my mother shouting through the trees 
You should have seen that girl go shaky at the knees 
So I took her by the arm 
We settled down upon a farm 
And raised our children up as gently as you please. 

GOLD

Leave a Reply

